Notes From The Wilderness


I have been loved but not totally, married, but not happily, qualified for professions I barely understood but in other ways I’ve drunk at life like a madman: walking the streets, connecting with strangers openly and reacting to the music of the time, often filled with a joy in the moment which can be difficult to comprehend given my circumstances. I  struggle by every measurable standard but somehow being part of this world elevates me daily.

What did you do in your life? some man asked and I replied, “ I enjoyed the view but without any sense of strategy!”

Hitchhiking across Europe aged eighteen, sleeping under hedges and living on carrots and milk, playing chess with some oddly competitive man in a cafe on the Croatian coast, and later walking into the sea to wash my clothes, launderettes being beyond my budget, were the memories I treasured.

I’ve always been among the dispossessed, oddly distracted from the day’s urgencies by passing events. Isn’t life wonderful, especially when we wander in a landscape untarnished by man and admire those species which dwell in it. 

Somehow, in this drifting chaos I connected with another being over a number of years whose steady kindness, understanding and beauty centred me like nothing has before: Caroline, a fellow volunteer at the shop where I worked became close to me over shifts and months until on the morning of the day she left she said, even though we’d never spent time alone, “If I wasn’t married I would love you till I died” and I’d replied, “It would be returned:” It was all I had to offer and the truth.

When she touched my arm I melted into her soul but, of course, she left me forever after that shift because she was a civilised lady and life with chaos in an unironed shirt had never been her dream. 

Whatever the different circumstances, we connected in that profound way outsiders can sometimes do, but life is not always about understanding:  the truth is her empowered albeit unimaginative husband, a thoroughly decent man, offered her security in a way I never could: I might be her dream but I was never a reality. We never kissed because some boundaries cannot be crossed, but she was as near Eden as I will ever reach: she left my side but she will always be my home !

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in creative writing, Fiction, Peter Wells, Relationships, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Notes From The Wilderness

  1. Michael Graeme says:

    Deeply moving as always, Peter. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. catterel says:

    Is this a new one, Peter? Very moving.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Scarlet says:

    All the romance without any of the everyday drudgery?!
    Sx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s important not to be drowned by common sense !!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Scarlet says:

        Balance, my good man, balance! I think I meant that this couple didn’t take the chance of ruining their connection by tarnishing it with everyday drudgery – so the memory they have of each other will always be special.
        I have a friend who caught up with a long lost love – the one that got away, so to speak – after their reunion she never spoke of him again, I have the impression she would have been happier if he’d stayed lost – then at least she would still have had her fantasy.
        Sx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. judithhb says:

    Thank you for that Peter. I think we all have somebody that we pass and remember for a long time after even if it was one meeting or several.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. beth says:

    love this one Peter, the near, yet far connections, that happen where and when and how we least expect them. but we are touched and nonetheless ever changed by them.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kyknoord says:

    Some versions of Hell are painted in the muted greys of missed opportunities. Mine is layered in the aubergine of unrealised potential.

    Like

  7. Quite beautiful and, of course, all the better for its melancholic undertones. Sometimes the dream is more real than reality. Fabulous, Peter.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tiostib says:

    A poignant, somehow comfirting tale that fits perfectly into my mood as I slowly sip tea on the first crisp morning of Autumn. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Robin says:

    So good Peter…so many of us have been there.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Daedalus Lex says:

    Powerful tale well-told, Peter.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.