The Non-Committal Scandal


There is an envelope with her final letter. There is a man to whom it was addressed. There is a world which does not seek his memories, or family to thank him for his time.

Karen Black who took his heart at the end of their affair; who chose prudence over self-discovery, he always thought, left him when her husband moved abroad. She talked of loving him forever but would not pay the price. He watched her leave and take their secret with her, but thereafter he always lived alone. “I cannot live with copies” he once said, when a colleague asked him why he never married: that was fifty years ago. Now in his dotage and living in a care home he hides within his memories: an enigma to all around him.

His thoughts are suddenly interrupted by the matron standing by him, “There’s a lady to see you” she exclaims, looking as surprised as he clearly is himself. A woman in an expensive coat steps forward and in her hand is a photograph which she offers up to him.

“My name is Sarah Parsons, I am Karen Black’s daughter and she wanted you to have this” is her opening remark. With that she sits down and looks at him intently saying, “My mum told me all about it after my father was gone, and I promised I would find you when she passed away.”

Looking at her closely, he can see a trace of likeness, or certainly he wants to, though her face does not have that softness which Karen saved for him. Instead there is an anger, “Just what you would expect then,” he thinks but keeps that to himself.

“Thank you very much” he says, taking the photograph and hoping she would leave, but now there is vitriol and it’s pouring over him. “Better come away ” says the Matron taking her by the arm. “You’re a bastard old or not” the lady shouts, and everyone can hear her. Everyone discovers he’s got “history” just like them.

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in Affair, character, creative writing, Fiction, humour, Life, Love, morals, old age, Peter Wells, Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Non-Committal Scandal

  1. catterel says:

    Tantalising – so many possibilities, and if you do follow this up, I bet it won’t be the obvious sequel.

    Like

  2. jonna ellis holston says:

    Peter, you had me at the opening line, as usual.

    Like

  3. And there’s nothing quite like “history” to awaken the jackal.

    Like

  4. Sometimes the bitterness just stores up in people.

    Like

  5. ksbeth says:

    wow, my emotions were all over the place with this one – i was hoping for a romantic ending, an explanation and confession, about why she had to leave, how she had never stopped loving him. this is probably more realistic though.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Scarlet says:

    Yes, I agree, this probably is more realistic than the happy ending we all wish for.
    Sx

    Like

  7. What is ‘good’ and what is ‘bad’? In the end we all have history and all of it is open to interpretation. Once more a story which challenges one’s initial reaction. Well written, Peter..

    Like

  8. nelle says:

    History… yes. We do indeed all have it, some shining moments and some that leave me wondering, “what was I thinking?”

    Like

  9. What an intriguing stage you’ve set, Peter. I could “see” it like old movies I used to watch, sitting in the middle of the living room floor when I was a young girl. Have a satisfying Saturday. Hugs!

    Like

  10. michnavs says:

    I was hoping for a romantic ending but despite of not having one.. i like how you end it though..

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.