The Young Dictator,


I can remember Adolf Hitler or “Dolphi” as we called him, when I was “Alive” in the mortal sense; we were in the same class at school. We were about twelve I think: He was already a nutter, who used to stand on desks before lesson saying things like, “Success is the only measurement of right or wrong,” which sounds very mature for that age and sort of laughable at the same time, except most people still believe it. We moved shortly after my fourteenth birthday and I never met him again, which is something to smile about I suppose.

Anyway, we know what happened to “Dolphi” don’t we? During the First World War, when half the world went mad, and turned on itself with primal brutality, Dolphi had a great time. He found himself in a place where the enemy was easily identified, and being a good man just meant pointing your gun in the right direction. It influenced the entire way he approached his life

All that is history now, to me certainly, who’s been in Eternity these fifty years. Up here everything is different. Wealth is measured wherever you are, but up here you cannot earn anything. You have to live off the good deeds and thoughts you exhibited whilst on earth. Me, I’m just an ordinary man. I gave half my sandwich to some beggar I saw in the street quite regularly and “kechang” my moral bank account got a nice wedge of credit. He was my brother fallen on hard times, as it happens, but for some reason that biological coincidence got overlooked. The algorithms used at the gates of Eternity are far too complicated for the average soul to understand, so quite why you end up with the worth you do, is often beyond our understanding, but then that’s the same on Earth isn’t it.

Mind you I spent a lot of time having that affair with Erika, my neighbour, whose husband I pretended was my friend. Well, I had to, to get near her, didn’t I? You couldn’t miss out on the fun and anyway he was one of those music teachers who lacks every sensibility and tortures the ears and morale of pupils in his charge, which was lucky for me because that meant my afternoon trysts with Sandy didn’t cost me what they might have done if “Mr Pallid,” that’s what I called him, had been anything like a generously hearted husband or teacher.

Anyway, “Dolphi” or Adolf, as you know him, had so much fun in the first war, he spent his life trying to organise another party, and, credit where credit’s due, he pulled it off and with bells on. Not that it’s done him any good. He lives in one of the most wretched areas known to spirits and is practically bankrupt.

Here’s the rub; when you’ve finally spent your goodwill, and even Hitler got some because he was nice to his secretary, loved dogs and was a vegetarian, you are sent back again to see if you “Can do any better this time.” Apparently they are sending him to the Middle East. That might be interesting!

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in character, creative writing, faith, Fiction, humour, morals, Peter Wells and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Young Dictator,

  1. catterel says:

    What a thought! Actually, I think he’s probably already there …

    Like

  2. mikesteeden says:

    I rather like this gentle yet in many ways profound paddling in surreal waters…a bravo moment is due!

    Like

  3. ksbeth says:

    and best of luck to him in his new home.

    Like

  4. Al says:

    Just wondering, do you still see Erika up there while her husband is off playing the harp?

    Like

  5. I couldn’t think of a better place for him.

    Like

  6. Scarlet says:

    Ha!!! Sounds about right!!
    Sx

    Like

  7. What an interesting concept. I suppose everyone ends up going back because death is eternal–no way to store enough goodwill up.

    Like

    • seraph4377 says:

      Kinda reminds me of the Hindu or Buddhist version of Karma – good karma buys you better lives, stays in Heaven, even godhood, but it’s all temporary. The real goal is to get off the Wheel entirely. I wonder if that’s the case here.

      Like

  8. Let’s hope his new assignment is as a street urchin. I supposed we have to assume Arab, or Persian, he didn’t work out so well with the Jewish genes.

    Like

  9. Great idea, Peter! I love your natural tone here – it’s like talking with an old friend – and it works well as a reflective piece. ‘Could do better?’ – maybe this explains why the world is in such a mess!

    Like

  10. I thoroughly enjoyed this one……and yes I wish Dolphi all the luck in the world in his new home. Janet

    Like

  11. Good.
    I hope Mr. H. ( SATAN ) meets up w/ ISIS.
    They can all get married to one another.

    PS. Peter, I just watched Schindler’s List for the first time. I haven’t stopped thinking about it for 2 weeks. Don’t you find it amazing that something that evil only happened over 70 years ago? You see, the reason I haven’t watched it before is because I knew I’d react this way.

    Anyhow, I hope Dolphi is burning in Hell.

    xxx

    Like

  12. nelle says:

    Clever and entertaining!

    Like

  13. Nice one Peter 🙂 I can’t resist a good Dolphi story.

    Like

  14. tmezpoetry says:

    Haha you’re a nut and I love it. Keep inspiring 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

