A Life Viewed Through Artifacts


You walk where once we walked,  collecting objects with no knowledge of my ownership, and yet in my time I used and sometimes loved each one of them. Each little fork and button, now brushed by your enquiring hand, was felt or viewed with awe or fear or love according to its status and utility by those, like me, who sat among these stones, living out each passing day, caught up in daily urgencies and  questions about our destiny.

My name is Agnetha, and I lived in the space in which you stand; sipped from that cup you hold so carefully and sat on the stone  where you now rest your tools. You wonder how I lived my life. Look to yourself and you will find me there. I knew not what you know and knew much that is now buried among your new certainties, but the touch and breath of life remains unaltered. We also had our postures and a wish to be known, but only on our terms. Is that not always so?

Our Gods receive no worship now, supplanted by new deities. Our customs hidden under dust, now seem quite alien to you, but something in your enquiring mind, and the way you miss your family, reminds me of what we held dear. Preserved in this lover’s sanctuary, in which you walk so  carefully, is our message to posterity.

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in character, community, creative writing, faith, Life, Peter Wells, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Life Viewed Through Artifacts

  1. catterel says:

    That’s lovely, Peter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lbeth1950 says:

    I often wish to be privy to their thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do feel that ‘The Past’, be it people, events or objects, does leave an electro-chemical trace which can be sensed or picked up by those who are sensitive to it. Whether one chooses to name this (as ghosts, spirits, soul..) depends upon how much personal relevance one places upon such things.
    Point being, you have captured this perfectly here giving life to the inanimate. Well written, Peter.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ksbeth says:

    i have always felt that a bit of emotion/spirit is held within old things, their stories never leave.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Al says:

    Beautifully written and poignant. If time travel were possible, they might view our technology as alien and frightening, but they would surely see that the human spirit is still the same, especially if they read your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love you Peter – my first and always central love is history and the finding of it. This is how I feel every time I wander off on a journey to find, to learn what is was “we left behind.”

    Like

  7. Elissaveta says:

    This is beautiful 🙂

    Like

  8. Leni Qinan says:

    Dear, you write beautiful prose!
    I think we’re just like small waves in the vast oceans: ephemeral and insignificant. Some are good (or bad) enough as to leave a message, a mark to go beyond. Objects are always quiet witnesses of our little (or big) lives. 😉

    Like

  9. A message from the past. Chilling.

    Like

  10. Pick up a stone, and it vibrates with something. Pick up another, and it’s unique energy resonates in my hand. Thus it is with objects. They carry with them something. Memories? But whose? As always, you have me pondering.

    Like

  11. gotham girl says:

    oh my…beautiful!

    Like

  12. ‘They know Earth secrets that know not I’ – yes, so much is lost. So much that stands between ourselves and their knowledge is valueless, really. What have we gained? Anyway, really, really nice evocation of the vanished voices of the past. Thank you.

    Like

  13. Ina says:

    This makes me look at things differently 🙂

    Like

  14. Ahhh, she sighs happily 🙂

    Like

  15. nelle says:

    I really really really love this. Love it.

    Like

  16. I share this wonder of cultures gone by. Though we dress differently, worship differently, so much of what makes us human is shared by past and present. Nicely done, Peter.

    Like

  17. Beautifully written Peter and thought provoking too.

    Like

  18. mazika4way says:

    thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

