Spam


For those of you whose Blogs I follow, I’ve been commenting on your posts and not seen any sign of the comments. I fear they are sitting where they belong, in the select company enjoyed in your spam folder. If you can unspam them, it may help me cure this problem.

Thank you for your help. This is not a post, as such. Just an expression of bewilderment. I’ve added loads of tags and stuff at the bottom in the hope someone sees this.

 

 

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in blog, Fiction, Life, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Spam

  1. catterel says:

    Last comment I had from you, Ducks, was on 8 July . doesn’t seem to be a problem on my blog. Did you get my replies?

    Like

  2. catterel says:

    I have seen regular comments from you in the proper place – last one was 8 July. Have you been getting my replies? And have I already posted this comment or did I accidentally delete it, because it seems to have vanished?

    Like

  3. trinacheyenne says:

    I hope you’ve seen your comments in my posts! They’re definitely no where near the spam folder! 🙂

    Like

  4. Dylan Hearn says:

    If this happened to you yesterday, it did to me too, so it might be a general problem. I’m now OK (well, if you can read this I am) but if you want to go add a comment to my latest blog so I can unspam you, feel free.

    Like

  5. Dylan Hearn says:

    I had the same problem yesterday but I’m OK now. If you want to put a comment on one of my posts, I’ll look out for it and unspam you.

    Like

  6. MishaBurnett says:

    I check my spam folder on a regular basis, and I’ve never found a comment from wordpress user in it–mostly it collects ads from sales websites. I do have to approve comments from other wordpress users, but I pretty much approve everything.

    Like

  7. Dylan Hearn says:

    I’ve had problems on comments appearing on blogs yesterday that work today. I don’t know if it is a WordPress problem or an anti-spam problem. If you want to try adding a comment on my blog, I’ll keep checking the spam file and unspam if that helps.

    Like

  8. I sometimes have this problem with WP then I just try again and it works. Someone actually commented on my latest post yesterday and told me it had vanished when he pressed post. He says he will try again. Not very helpful of me really, but you know at least its happening to others too. 🙂

    Like

  9. araneus1 says:

    Speak up! I can barely hear you……… the sound is muffled by……………. my spam filter. Some one get a rope………. get…him….out…of..there!!!!!

    Like

  10. Al says:

    I don’t think I have missed any of your comments, ducks. Also, there is nothing in my spam folder from you.

    Your enlightening comments going to spam would be like the Bolshoi ballet being booked into a local pub. Totally incongruous.

    Like

    • It has happened, and a few people have told me about it, and not just to me. I agree it’s odd. I do remember seeing Einstein trying to sell burgers outside our local station and asking him if he thought he was making full use of his talents. He gave mew a funny look, and I thought he thought I was criticising his range of accompanying sauces but I never saw him again, so something must have worked. Thanks for checking. It’s an odd thing

      Like

  11. You comment was duly approved and posted on mine! Thanks ever so for the show of support.

    Like

  12. Harry says:

    I have had the same problem lately, go to Akismet and tell them.

    Like

  13. Abby says:

    Yup. It went to spam, so now you’re approved! Weird, as that’s never happened with you before.

    Like

  14. erickeys says:

    Checked my spam folder. If you left a comment there it was probably about diet products or getting a higher google page rank. You should know by now that the best way to sell me things is to send me emails from Nigeria, not blog comments.

    Like

  15. Checked spam and found nothing *sigh* Does this mean you have left no comments? Say it ain’t so Joe 🙂

    Like

  16. kate4samh says:

    Clearly a conspiracy x

    Like

  17. gotham girl says:

    I so appreciate your comments CD and the last one was on 7-7. I agree with Kate above…clearly a conspiracy!!!

    Like

  18. I keep an eye on my spam folder, and don’t believe I’ve seen any of your comments in there. You may have not commented on anything though.

    Like

  19. leagpage says:

    I received a comment from you on July 4th. (Thanks for that– that, I was getting some odd “comments” that seemed to be “pingbacks.” Were those more comments from you? I checked my spam folder and it was full of computer generated gibberish.

    Like

  20. Morgan says:

    oh dear….wordpress snafu 😦

    Like

  21. treasa65 says:

    Just so you know, I checked. All of your comments have been posted, as far as I can tell. The spams have been actual spams, not from you 🙂

    Like

  22. I do check my spam regularly but they usually are real spam – this is annoying too as often they are ‘naughty’ sites or random comments that don’t make sense or people trying to sell stuff. I hope we all deleted these permanently and can only hope that at some time they may stop…

    Like

  23. J.E. says:

    Your comment isn’t in my spam folder! Good luck

    Like

  24. barbara says:

    Unless you’re commenting in Chinese, I haven’t seen you in my spam folder! I think I’ve gotten all your comments where they should be. Hope you figure this out, and really hope it’s not a WP problem to look out for!
    b

    Like

  25. Jane Thorne says:

    Hello Ducky, all your comments have come through normally over here. I will continue to check my span folder…you are safe. 🙂

    Like

  26. Purely.. Kay says:

    I just got your SPAM messages on my blog. You are completely unspammed on my end my friend 🙂

    Like

  27. jmmcdowell says:

    I haven’t read all the comments, so I hope these two suggestions aren’t redundant.

    The “disappearing comment” phenomenon happens to people occasionally. Before smacking your computer or cursing WordPress, try hitting “refresh” in your browser. This has always worked for me and several other bloggers I know. The comment reappears with the refresh.

    With the spam problems, I know several bloggers who ran into that problem, and the Akismet folks were very helpful in straightening out the problems. Sometimes it took a bit of troubleshooting, but the end results were good.

    Like

  28. You’re on my VIP list. No spammage allowed 🙂

    Like

  29. Lat comment of yours was on July 7th. The spam folder just seems to have spam in it. Gibberish. Not your style at all.

    Like

  30. I believe all your comments have been posting fine on my blog, Peter. I try to check my spam regularly – it is so strange how fellow bloggers who have been posting all along all of a sudden get sent to spam. Certainly nothing you ever have to say belongs there! Raising a cuppa to you!

    Like

  31. Team Oyeniyi says:

    I did indeed rescue you from the spam folder. You might need to contact Askimet’s sypport directly, as this has happened in the past to regular WP users.

    Like

  32. Roohani Naik says:

    Haha. I laughed more on the replies you got on this post then your post. 😀 That human tendency to prove yourself innocent or right, saying something in your self defense.

    Like

  33. I checked. A few “regulars” ended up in the Spam Can. Not you though. Although I’ll keep checking. This is all rather serendipitous. But who doesn’t like a good mystery every now and then? 😉

    Like

  34. Writerlious says:

    Aye, aye, Captain! 🙂

    Like

  35. poppy23 says:

    I think the problem is solved. : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

