It’s Raining


In case you didn’t catch it the first time, its raining. Nothing wild and glorious with just a taste of the world’s ending kind of rain. More that steady, we can take the fun out of a lottery win kind of rain. You know the stuff.

“Why don’t we go shopping”. Ok, I wouldn’t say that but I’m trying to be inclusive. “What, and just get wet and soggy. I don’t think so”. “Walk in the Park.”.. “Are you Mad”. Spot of gardening….. Is that the best suggestion you can come up with, and so on.

I love a bit of weather:  the proper stuff. Rain that rattles the slates, with the odd crack of lightning in case you try to ignore the wrath of nature. Proper snow falls where you cannot get to work and fill in that report on Toilet Breaks: ( times taken out by members of the Marketing Department ) and are forced to stay at home and build a Snowman and drink hot tea/ whisky or Sauerkraut juice for those with ruined taste buds.

A garden juddering tornado to ruffle the fronds of my favourite gooseberry bush. Alright I’ve never seen one, ( tornado that is ), but I saw a film about some nutters chasing them across America, and it looked like a great way to waste gas and spill food in your lap while trying to control your truck in crazy circumstances.

Anything, but not this. The steady life sapping drizzle which leaches away all forms of exuberance. The only thing I can think of is to make some tea and watch an old film. Having said that. The management department, otherwise known as my partner, has intimated, or more honestly, let it be known, that we are going Christmas Shopping , come hell or high water. So what ever I said earlier, Its wet and soggy time for me, with a hint of further grumbling over the price of wrapping paper. Where’s my hat

On the other hand,  if were we suddenly transported into a weather system I have described, where you clung to life : trying to make sandwiches in a gale at a picnic suggested by a friend you know you should have dropped years ago, you might long for something calmer. Lets face it, if a few moments of boredom are all we have to complain about, life is not as bad we think it is. Hope yours is the same.

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in character, creative writing, humour, recreation, Relationships, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s Raining

  1. Oh this is just wonderful! A fab read that made me laugh out loud on a “we can take the fun out of…” saturday morning. I read it while drinking my coffee and bemoaning the fact that my son, wife and three children, (one of them 3 months old whom I have yet to meet) should have arrived from Ireland on the early flight for the weekend. Instead they are all still at home, have heads over buckets and are vomiting into them violently.

    I hope you find some cheap and cheerful wrapping paper, the kind that tears the minute you dare to look at it. 🙂

    Christine

    Like

  2. backonmyown says:

    I know the kind of rain you’re talking about. When we’re optimistic, we here in the used-to-be agrarian South, call it a good soaking rain.

    By now you’re home from shopping I imagine. I hope you stayed somewhat dry. And I think I know you well enough by now to imagine you stopping at regular intervals to have a coffee or tea or soup.

    Now, let’s get serious about the wrapping. With a hot toddy of course. 🙂

    Like

  3. cyberiann says:

    Insightful and witty as always. When we sing “long to reign over us,” perhaps its the weather we’re serenading.

    Date: Sat, 15 Dec 2012 10:54:16 +0000 To: thoogewerf@msn.com

    Like

  4. nelle says:

    The last two days are rough. I love inclement weather, a hard rain, a heavy snowfall, a windstorm (with limits.) When children are harmed, when families suffer, something inside hurts as well.

    Like

  5. I loathe long bouts of rain, but Sauerkraut is quite yummy!
    Nelle’s comment really puts things into perspective though doesn’t it.

    Happy Xmas x

    Like

  6. In a gale suggested by a friend you should have dropped years ago. That made me laugh. And we need to laugh these days if only to distract us for a moment from the tragedy that engulfs us. I found you through Zeroto60 and I’m glad I did. I enjoy your insights.

    Like

  7. babs50nfab says:

    I’ve lived through a tornado and I’m here to tell you it’s something you never forget. But it does end quickly. We’ve been having the same weather you’re describing and it makes me very depressed. If the sun could shine during a rainstorm I wouldn’t mind it so much.
    Thanks for the giggles Peter.
    b

    Like

  8. Lafemmeroar says:

    What a great line: “The steady life sapping drizzle which leaches away all forms of exuberance.” And my life is the same … I’m a lucky chick! 🙂

    Like

  9. eof737 says:

    I had a good chuckle over this one… Chin up, shop like you love it and have a margarita afterwards… 😆

    Like

  10. Writerlious says:

    Despite the rain clouds, this post brightened my day! 🙂

    Like

  11. Shonnie says:

    Hey Ducky … see I am here. I just realized I have been reading you via my iphone — which has been acting up lately and made anything other than reading an impossibility. Glad you just have the “normal” agrrivating situations to gripe about. Those sound very yummy right now.

    Just a mini clip. My daughter’s Mom and Sis are staying at my house. They are from a lower income bracket, and have issues with prosperity (sister is a big fan of Marx) –even if it is gained by cleaning mega tons of toilets. That’s where I have been.

    Here’s one to make you smile. I often call my nice house, “the house that toilets built, cuz we cleaned so many to get here.”

    Like

  12. winsomebella says:

    I grew up in tornado alley and can say they are not very nice. But rain can be awfully dreary. I suggest you add something to your tea 🙂

    Like

  13. Dawne Webber says:

    Brilliant. I love the same type of weather, although chilly bright autumn days are my favorite. I’m missing the snow this year. We’ve had the depressing drizzle you speak of. It wears a person out.

    Like

  14. We have tornado warnings every summer when the sky goes dark, the winds pick up, and it starts to hail I get a little anxious. But we have been lucky that nothing has touched down in a very long while…

    Now back to shopping! Spike your coffee with tequila and bailey’s it will make for a much more fun trip!

    Like

  15. Beth says:

    The proper rain activities: Remaining in one’s pajamas, watching old movies, drinking hot chocolate, eating popcorn. Do that and you’ll learn to love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

