The Value of People in Blogland


I had a comment made about a post of mine by someone who I consider to be a friend saying sometimes they were too shy to post a reply because, in essence, in their wording , “Too many well spoken people read your writings “.Needless to say, compared with the  expression of genuine human emotion I couldn’t care a monkey’s whether someone is well spoken or not.

One of the things that draws me to Blogging is the bravery, courage and dignity I meet within its confines. Beside that, whether someone can craft a well-shaped phrase, or not, is  of no importance. I have met adventure, courage, humour, warmth, tragedy and bravery and many other inspiring qualities courtesy of this platform. Believe me, to read accounts containing those qualities is a privilege. an absolute privilege, and wondering how those passions and experiences are  expressed in words,  is as far from my mind as it was possible to be.

Owing to a technical brain which is still in awe of the garden fork I am not remotely capable of adding links or any other thing involving computer wizardry to my blog, but sometimes I wish I could. I would  talk about how their writings have moved or inspired me. Apart from anything else I do not wish to embarrass them by drawing “unnecessary” attention to them so I am reticent about using their names, but all are on my Blogroll if you want a clue. I know this is an amusing misplacement of manners, because we are all meant to like being mentioned in other blogs, and linked and ping ponged or whatever it is. I like it myself ( cough splutter )  but I feel in some weird and crazy way,  that these people are my friends and deserve the courtesy I would extend to friends in real life.

I know that seems a little odd, and is possibly one of the reasons my Blog continues to be a well-kept secret but, lets face it, no one has every accused me of being over-burdened by sanity. But that’s the pleasure of blogging. You can be mad without having to apologise afterwards

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in blog, character, community, creative writing, faith, Life, life2, Relationships, skils, Talent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Value of People in Blogland

  1. A year or so ago I used to follow at least 20-30 blogs, including yours. In the past 6 months or so, as my own blog and business has bloomed, I have had to cut back the number of blogs I visit on a regular basis…to about five…including yours 🙂 I can’t recall how I came across your space, but I’m thrilled I did!

    Like

  2. I loved this post and I couldn’t agree with you more. I have been blessed to find folks like yourself in Blogland who make me think, laugh and … well the list is endless. I love that there is no small talk, just words, ideas and inspiration. I agree with Kirri. I’ve also cut back on the blogs I follow. I’ve streamlined it to folks that I feel I have a connection with. I love it that I have no idea what they look like, heck sometimes I don’t even know whether they are male and female, but we all have something in common we put our words out there and are brave enough to share them. I always get a wee lift when you’ve written a new post and it pops into my inbox. Thank you! Your post has also reminded me that my bloglist is probably out of date so I’m off to fix that now. Oh and also I know that my blog takes ages to load on your computer. I’m advised that this is because I have too many pictures on there so as the good blogging buddy I am I’m going to transfer some of them off my homepage. Hey because that’s what good blogging buddies do – right? Keep on keeping on. I love your writing CD.

    Like

  3. Abby says:

    I love this post, for the simple fact I feel the same exact way. In fact, I wrote a “Lifesaver” post a while back simply because I truly believe that the people in blogland have saved my life on multiple occasions. I don’t mean to sound dramatic, but it’s true. It’s because of these people–you included–that I was able to come out with my ‘issues” and articulate all those things I had been harboring inside. They got it, not all of them, but enough of them and the ones who mattered to me. They support. They laugh. They share. They make me feel less alone.
    I wish I was a tech wizard with the skills and space and brainpower to honor all of them every day, but alas, I will settle for offering my own support, humor, listening ear and comments when I can. Thank you for this post, and your blog 😉

    Like

  4. Caroline says:

    My day is all the better on the days you post!

    I may have stopped blogging for now but I haven’t stopped following!!!

    Like

  5. Barbara says:

    The chuckle started at ‘ping ponged’ and blew into out of control laughter by the line…no one has every accused me of being over-burdened by sanity.

    You see Peter, this is exactly what draws us together.
    Thanks for starting my day in a good mood.
    b

    Like

  6. When I see your posts on my email, my heart does a little somersault, Ducky.

    And btw, I NEeeeeVER apologize for my insantity! Xxxx

    Like

  7. backonmyown says:

    It doesn’t sound odd at all, Ducks. It sounds like what I’ve come to expect from you. And it sounds just right.

    Like

  8. nelle says:

    Love what you say here… as you know, I’m an aspiring novelist, but that’s what I love to do. We all have our interests, we all have experiences, and it would be a shame if we devalued those of one because of how they frame the words. This is full on participation, and no one should feel reticent over participation.

    My dad, now gone 15 years 😦 used to tell me he was stupid because he only made it through the sixth grade in school. I’d watch him read the blueprints for electrical and mechanical machinery and know what needed to be done to fix it. I wouldn’t know a resistor from a capacitor, but he could read all the squiggles, and he fixed those machines, for…thirty five years. Stupid, he was not.

    Like

  9. Al says:

    No doubt about it, blogging has loosed a lot of talented and interesting characters who otherwise may have carried those talents and fascinating stories to their grave. It’s a blessing to us all that they are now sharing it with us.

    By the way, don’t feel bad about the garden fork. It’s a very complicated piece of machinery to be used only by those who have been thoroughly trained over many years. Fortunately for me, I have a wife who is considered an expert.

    Like

  10. There is something about this medium that makes writing free (as in liberating, although it doesn’t cost anything either without the fancy upgrades) and enjoyable. I never thought I would feel as close as I do to so many people I’ve never met. But, then again, I read their words, their heart. How many of their family and close friends do?

    Like

  11. renxkyoko says:

    Right away I read the folks on your blogroll, and oh, my gosh, I AM THERE ! ! ! ! Thank you, thank you. * bows * It’s an honor, coming from you, and I really mean that.

    Like

  12. eof737 says:

    “Whether someone can craft a well-shaped phrase, or not, is of no importance.” This is true for me! I support and love what I read on WP because of the people and community here.The blogs add juice but they are not the whole enchilada. I get tired of bloggers who make it sound like they only read award winning, Nobel Prize contender blogs… Hogwash!
    People first, product next. 🙂

    Like

  13. I remember being very very nervous about making comments on other people’s posts (and even on mine, for that matter) when I began blogging over a year ago. (I was a writer and I didn’t want to appear less than perfect!) So self-conscious was I of making the right impression, etc etc. Then I began connecting to such interesting people and their eclectic and very individual ways of expression and the value of those connections overcame much of that self-consciousness … because the treasure was in, as you wrote: ‘ the bravery, courage and dignity’ I came upon over and over. And, also, that in silence there truly is something golden, because the unspoken (or unwritten) is sometimes all we really to know. Thank you for this! Diane

    Like

Leave a Reply

