Daughters, Self- Knowledge and Other Things


I have three daughters and, as anyone else will know, that is a lovely position to be in. One has just got engaged, to a man who would have passed the most rigorous “Are   you good enough for my daughter ” exam. One is a budding entrepreneur, and shows all the enterprise and determination that  indicates,  and one is about to begin studying for her PhD in chemistry, which I know  as much about as most of you, but we can’t know it all can we.

Well yes we can actually, if only for a time. More than a few years ago when my eldest was about four she might sit on my knee, and I could tell her, in the manner of Solomon, that, “according to the latest estimates, at least 38% of the moon was made from cream cheese. Quite possibly Philadelphia,” and she would nod wisely and drink in all these facts. She might tell her passing mother that “38% of the moon was made from cream cheese”, and discount the baffled shake of her mother’s head  which this nugget of wisdom produced.

Now time has moved on. We remain parents always, and that incurs certain duties and expectations of course, but gradually, if only for a time, we morph into friends before journeying on to the dribbling pensioner’s who need their daughter’s care to survive. Luckily I am still at the friend stage. Like most of my friends, my daughters now view some of my information with caution. If I say the 153 bus is the best route into London, they will not stand by the bus stop and wait for hours until they discover there is no such thing as a 153 bus. They will sensibly check the information and go with their own instincts: often better than mine. Whats not to love about that. Having said that I long for the arrival of grandchildren who will be able to benefit from my secret information about the moon, but all good things come to him who waits, even if it’s the bus to central London.

In the same way I wrote a piece called “The Beacon Home” and I loved writing it. Every world was chiselled with the greatest care. One of the amusing things about my “Beacon” post following on from my observation made in my post about Blogging etiquette  is  that the “Beacon” post got more “Likes” and less comments than any post I have produced in a long time. Was that the fates asking me to mind my manners.

Anyway I was inspired while I wrote it by playing a female soloist singer, name of Clare Torry on the Pink Floyd Album, “Dark Side of the Moon”. That album, and that piece of music are dear , well obsessively dear to my heart, and I am transported whenever I hear it.

When I had finished writing the piece, toning it off, wiping away the coffee stains and the  rest, I dragged my partner over to my laptop and made her read the post/ word poem  while I played the track to her through ear phones. To her patient credit she said she liked it  and was complimentary. Very nice. Will the next person who wants to praise me kindly step up. We are offering free coffee and home-made pastries to the more abundant compliments.  What actually happened was this.  Some time later she talked about the post. She thought it was good but “She had trouble concentrating”. “Why I asked”. “because that awful women was screeching in her ear while she was trying to read the words.”

I fell back on the chair dazed. Clare Torry:  “that awful women”. …. “screeching”.  What was she saying…. Everything around me started to spin as my sense of world order was thrown into confusion. Waves of bewilderment poured over me, and I  felt baffled and at a loss.  Then I realised. Like my daughters she was right. We all have pieces of music which transport us but Good old Clare was not singing  one of hers. Just because I love Pink Floyd it does not mean that everyone has to.  Once the shock had subsided I felt a sort of warmth flow through me. You’ve got to love increasing your self-knowledge whether it comes from your daughter, your partner or your Blogging friends out there. Comments please to an address of your choice or in the space below.

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in blog, character, creative writing, humour, Life, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Daughters, Self- Knowledge and Other Things

  1. renxkyoko says:

    You know, I wasn;t sure myself if readers would be interested in my Vatican photos.

    Anyway, it’s really good to get another perspective and viewpoint. You might think the world of something, but to others, it might be, Eh.

    Like

  2. Caroline says:

    Lovely piece. For me my route to a far off place is some Chopin or Schubert playing in my ears.

    Like

  3. Al says:

    What are you saying, Ducks? That there is NO cream cheese in the moon? After just recently finding out the horrid truth about Santa and the Easter bunny, I don’t think I could handle this too.

    Funny post.

    Like

  4. Deana says:

    Dark SIde of the Moon is most excellent music according to my husband. I’m more of a James Taylor or Carol King woman myself. Love this blog though. it sounds like you have amazing daughters which tells me, they have amazing parents. Nice work Peter.

    Like

  5. I thought the moon was made from Cheddar cheese. You are blowing my mind, Peter!

    Yes, we do like different things and see the same things in different ways (or hear the same words differently). That’s what I find so interesting and amusing about humans–we are complicated yet predicable (in that we are always unpredictable on some level). 😉

    Like

  6. To be honest Lorna, I think it is possible that traces of cheddar are up there, but the last luna explorers had so much on their list that they ran out of time to investigate

    Like

  7. barbara says:

    You’re at a great stage in your life Peter. When your kids become your friends it’s wonderful. You have daughters which I can’t relate to, having nothing but boys in our family. I used to say we couldn’t buy a girl in our family, then one day my son asked me not to say that in front of his oldest because he asked him if they could buy a girl! You’re going to love grandkids!

    As for the moon… please don’t blame Philadelphia if it’s cheesy.
    b

    Like

  8. Ducky,
    You. Transform. Me.
    everytime I read your posts.

    Lets see: Mr. L. is completley moved by Deep Purple, Elton John.

    Nooooo. NOT ME!

    I am transformed by Nora Jones, Adele.

    I love love love your blogs. They make me ponder. I kind of dig that, ya know? xxx

    Like

  9. eof737 says:

    I can relate as I might be at that stage now where my daughters view me less as superwoman and more as just human. 😉

    Like

  10. backonmyown says:

    Oh, Ducks, you are going to be a good grandpa. And it will be your favorite job ever. Also, the grandchildren will love whatever music you sing to them. You get to help develop their tastes in music. Isn’t that cool!

    Like

    • Without being immodest I think I will certainly enjoy it and I hope my Grandkids do as well. Its something I’ve been looking forward to since . Well I can’t remember when I wasn’t looking forward to it.

      Like

  11. Jane Thorne says:

    I think you’ve got all the makings of a great Grandad…your abundant imagination alone will transport them and the best of luck to their parents when they have them back home again! I still believe that there are fairies in the garden 😀

    Like

  12. Lady E says:

    I admit that I am not a great Pink Floyd fan (why yes, I am a Phillistine), and keep sharing my music choices online, which are probably horrendous to most…
    Ahem, anyway, my children sort of still believe what I say, but with a pinch of salt as I keep joking… Even my three yo gets it, which makes me immoderately proud. I’m sure you’ll be a fabulous grandad of the full-of-wonderous-stories variety ! 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

