A Word of Advice


So I ask this man I meet, ” What do you want out of life apart from love, recognition and a sense of inner peace.

” I want a bit of that, know what I mean”. he says,winking at me in an exaggerated manner. He is either talking about the opposite sex or is on the verge of some violent stroke: only time will tell.  “And how will you get it” I ask with a bravery born out of ignorance. “I’m going upmarket:  house , car, suits that say, Hey. The man is here and  I am the man.

” Will that bring you love, recognition and a sense of inner peace ?” I enquire

“Look mate” he says, ” Let me tell you this. Women don’t give a monkeys about Love ,recognition, and a bit inner peace or whatever. unless it can be found in a clothes shop or the bottom of a glass of champers. Take it from me” he says laughing. “I’ve forked out enough on those two things to know what I’m talking about.”

Possibly that’s true I say, straining my sense of diplomacy, but it’s not all about women is it. What about travel, adventure, experiencing different cultures and all that stuff ?”

I’ve done my bit of travelling he says, but most of what you want is right under your nose. This has a whiff of profundity about it but I could be reading more into his sentence than he intended. Whose to say.

Sadly when a couple of pints of ale have slid down my throat my sense of conversation can become a bit surreal. So I look at this bulky well dressed man and say, “So whats your attitude to Yoga then ? “.

He looks at me now, as though checking out what planet I’ve returned from. “Ye what”.  he says registering me as a weirdo.

“You know, Yoga. It increases muscle tone, flexibility and can give a sense of inner peace”

“You need to get a life mate” he say taking another sip of beer. “I’ve got all the inner peace I need and no one has ever complained about my flexibility. Know what I mean”

We are in a bar and I have bought him a drink so instead of hitting me he decides to give me a few home truths to help me on my way. “Look son, it doesn’t matter whether you are in London or Saudi bleedin Arabia. Champers and a buying her a new dress will get you all the inner peace any man can wish for. Believe me. I don’t just wear the T shirt. I printed the bloody thing”. Anyway, I’m off now but let me give you a word of advice. If you want to get anywhere, you need to get yourself some decent shirts.”

“You may be right” I said.” I wish I could have told Ghandi that”.   He shoots me a look of incredulity and leaves.

And so it could go on apparently. The conversation is not real, or at least I don’t think it is but it reminds of someone I met who regarded the quenching of appetite and garnering of prestige as the purpose of existence.As he said, “I’m driving the Porsche, so whose right.

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in character, creative writing, Environment, faith, Life, life2, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Word of Advice

  1. babs50nfab says:

    I know a bit about this mentality Peter and it’s all a crock. The old catch phrase, “whoever dies with the most toys wins” has done nothing to advance this world. Not to sound sexist, but it tends to be more male oriented thinking than female in my experience.

    In any case, I do believe we have advanced a bit past that kind of thinking… if only a teeny tiny bit.
    b

    Like

  2. nelle says:

    As the wise old sage Graeme Edge wrote, “Cold hearted orb that rules the night, removes colour from our sight, red is grey and yellow white, but we decide which is right, and which is illusion.”

    Like

  3. Al says:

    You need to quit hanging around all those existentialists, Ducks.

    Like

  4. “““Dear Ducky,
    You Thrill me w/ your words.

    love this)))– I wish I could have told Ghandi that”.

    Fan-freaking-brilliant. Xx

    Like

  5. I hope we have advance a little further and realize all we need is right in front of us.

    Like

  6. Writerlious says:

    Meh. Name-droppers and materialists. Who needs ’em! 🙂

    Like

  7. What are “Champers?” Peter? I get the meaning of your essay without having to know this, but I’m curious nonetheless.

    I see this as an internal wrestling match we all have with “the meaning of life.” What makes us valuable? Our things or our being? Culture tells us it’s our things; inner reflection tells us something very different. Yet we have to live in a society that is obsessed with accumulating solid evidence of our worth. Quite a conundrum you raise with your hypothetical conversation…

    Like

  8. Brilliant. I love the way you mix humour with profound wisdom. You’re a delight 🙂

    Like

  9. Shonnie says:

    Hey, Buddy! Lovely tale.

    I’m with Lorna … we all wrestle with what “IS” important or of value. I must confess … I Love stuff. I also love going places. What I Love most, however, is going places with those I LOVE and savoring new experiences … uh … and giving them stuff. hehehe 😉 😀

    love ta read yo writin’

    Like

  10. eof737 says:

    Oh this is a riot… I totally get that fictional guy… You know, in the material world we inhabit, he has the hooks… Sadly, after a certain age, our attitude can shift a bit into the want to feel secure in my old age direction… I’m still laughing, It was a bloody good conversation and nothing’s wrong with going upmarket as long as we don’t lose our compassion and care for the downmarket folk. Know what I mean? Just saying… Good to see you blog again! 😆

    Like

  11. judithhb says:

    Profound wisdom indeed Peter. Glad to see you back on form again. And thanks for subscribing to my blog No 152!

    Like

  12. Debbie says:

    Possibly we could pool our pounds (you’d have to convert my dollars) and make this poor fellow a very tasteful t-shirt that says:
    Man falls from the pursuit of the ideal of plan living and high thinking the moment he wants to multiply his daily wants. Man’s happiness really lies in contentment. ~ Gandhi

    Like

  13. Christine says:

    So nice to catch up with you via your posts. This one has me full of smiles and admiration :)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

