Issues Which Never Die


However hard we shout we may not be heard, or heard the voice dies on the passing wind or bounces off some wall to be lost in the chatter of the day. So many of us shout or maintain a monotone of sad complaints against a world which seems indifferent to our plight. Too many like us, it must be said, so why should we come first  or be heard amongst a chorus of complaint. Behind the cheerful buzz of magazines or love among the coffee cups many sit and wait for that one glance which says you’re understood.

“My troubles seem so small against the rest why should I even speak”.  You hold that thought as years pile on the years.  Brave because there is no other choice we face  the world’s  indifference to our plight. Soldier on or swim against the tide. If the water takes you who else will know, so lost are they in struggles of their own.

So we chatter on about our frocks or sports ;new recipes or the holidays we might have, keeping to the surface of our minds. Maintaining a brittle cheerfulness lest memory grabs our feet and drags us where  unresolved issues bide their time.  No grave too deep to hold their secrets from our dreams: reborn at night to mock our daily quest.  Like some unwelcome butler  our secrets shake their well-groomed head as we construct some glib personae to charm our changing guests.

There is another road which wise men seek. To build a faith and friends who know the worst. Talking with them can help you face those ghosts which  overwhelm the solitary mind. The fear of being misunderstood can prevent us being understood at all. Escaping the prison formed by  shadows from our past we can in common things: the laughter of children in the park or old people content within themselves find  strength to rise above our doubts and grasp at  life’s adventure once again

.

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in character, creative writing, faith, Life, life2 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Issues Which Never Die

  1. This is very poetic, with an undertow of both sadness and hope. I love some of the images you have used here: the unwelcome butler and love among the coffee cups.

    Like

  2. Lady E says:

    This year has made me realised precisely how much tension was created from maintaining a brittle cheerfulness, when issues were eating me up inside. It’s exhausting.

    Blogging has been a great help in that respect, because I do not need to filter when I write, I can just be me. And it is amazing how many people actually understand.

    There is such relief in just being yourself and saying who you really are, what you really think, etc…That I think I am gradually becoming more and more like that in everyday life. I guess the people who do not understand are not worth bothering that much about, if that makes sense.

    Thanks for this lovely post. Your more intimate ones like the last two are my favourites :). There is something very touching in someone expressing their own vulnerability.
    Have a good week x

    Like

  3. Kirri White says:

    I couldn’t agree more…True friends want to hear the good and the bad. I often find its the difficult conversations that can sometimes be the most rewarding. When you share with an open heart and mind, you connect on a much deeper level, leading to an easing of fears, and problems or just mutual understanding.

    Life is so much better when its a shared pursuit!

    Like

  4. barbara says:

    Awfully deep for a monday morn Peter, but very well written.
    b

    Like

  5. Swim against the tide i say, i have had to do it a few times and come through it.

    I always thought we were in each others blogroll, so i’m adding you after all this time 🙂 if you would do the same please.

    Like

  6. Big Al says:

    It seems that so many things I think and feel, you write about. Who is telling you about me?

    Like

  7. This is definitely a poetic read. and I definitely enjoyed it

    Like

  8. Caroline says:

    So true. To be really heard and understood for who we are is so rare. Mostly people hear what they want to hear – if they hear at all. Blogging, for me, has been the answer. I needed one and it has been wonderful how I’ve been heard!

    Have a lovely week.
    Caroline
    x

    Like

  9. You filled this essay with some poetry, my friend. The other comments picked up on the lovely passages. You truly have a gift.

    Like

  10. —-“The fear of being misunderstood can prevent us being understood at all”

    So true, Ducky … x

    Like

  11. Lovely post. Sometimes it’s easier to wear a mask of a comedian instead of facing the darkness from within our hearts. I think it’s important to find the friends that you can rely on through the good and the bad.

    Like

  12. ElizOF says:

    Well said Peter and something I think about quite a bit. I share more with my closest friends offline as they know me… Something I don’t feel inclined to do is spill out everything on the internet. I share parts of me and leave the rest for my offline interactions…
    Call it my British reserve but I don’t feel the need to share everything; i just don’t see the point in it. Loved this post… but then, I say that about all your posts and I mean it. 😉

    Like

  13. backonmyown says:

    Well, Ducks, you were painting a rather grim picture and sounded maybe a little depressed. And then, in the last paragraph the hope that I always sense in you, sprang forward once again. I like that about you–your sense of hope and promise. You paint amazing pictures with your words. That’s a wonderful gift and you’re kind to share it with us.

    Like

  14. nelle says:

    ‘…friends who know the worst.’ Essential.

    Like

  15. Pingback: How often are we heard? | I've Survived! and I'm Ready to "Fly"!!

Leave a Reply

