Blogging Awards


Over time I have received a few Blogging awards. None of them are displayed here because I don’t know how to do it, can’t make any links, and a host of other reasons. The awards I have received are from one Blogger to several others: I’m sure you know the kind of thing. When I first got “The Versatile Blogger” You had to thank the person who gave it to you, name seven facts about yourself and then name seven other worthy winners.

I always thought seven was quite a lot. How about two. After all, the more awards you hand out the lower the value of each award. I think we can all understand that. Anyway, the number has now grown to fifteen. I wish I was good at maths. I wish I was good at anything but it struck me that if we all get an award and then religiously pass it onto  fifteen people. I’ve now worked it out that by the fifth wave of awards  759,375 people would have received it. By the sixth the number grows to 11,380,625, by the seventh it’s over 68 million.  Perhaps my maths is wrong but you get the general idea.

You cannot fault the motive behind giving the award but in the end so many people would have it that you start begging people to start a Blog just so you can pass it on. Several people have now receive it several times etc until we hardly know whether we are coming or going. It’s one of those things which started off well but sort of drifts out of control. It’s operating like a chain letter.

My award system is more in the form of my Blogroll. It’s not an exhaustive list of the best Blogs in the universe,and it’s subjective of course,  but it is made up of people who I genuinely follow on a regular basis. Like mine, the quality of their posts goes up and down but sometimes these individuals start writing on something close to their hearts and the power of their writing becomes amazing.

There is a lady called Jeannie doing that at the moment. Read her please because what she is currently writing about, in my opinion, is gripping.  Written with zest, energy and a real sense of who she was and her dilemma. I could go on but you get the idea. The last time I checked I noticed she only had two comments against her latest post which I find quite disappointing, and astonishing. It demonstrates that there is a  limited correlation between readership and quality.  Everyone on my Blogroll has had these periods of exceptional posting: that’s why they are there. I am sure there are many  brilliant Blogs out there but you can only seriously follow so many, and these are the one’s I’ve found.

Perhaps the “Blogroll” award is the next step in the achievement saga. Who am I to say !?

!!!!! Just an update. I went over to Jeannie’s Blog only to find that she has just been nominated for the “Versatile Blogging Award” which she richly deserves of course, and has also nominated me for it. This all done while I was pretty much writing my post on the subject. How weird is that. You couldn’t write it could you, except I just have

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in blog, creative writing, Life, life2, skils, Talent, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Blogging Awards

  1. Caroline says:

    Well put CD. I’ve been touched and honoured to have been nominated a couple of times. But am overwhelmed by what to do next. So like you my blogroll (which I’ve niftily split into sections!) is my list of those whose posts I love, enjoy and respect.

    Like

  2. Caroline says:

    PS I just need to teach you how to put links in your posts so you can link us to a particular post you feel moved by!

    Like

  3. Kirri says:

    I think a recommendation from you would suffice nicely as an award. I will head over to Jeannies for sure! Thanks

    Like

  4. —I do NOT like the blogging award things… Because I don’t want to send them out to other bloggers after I recieve one…. And I love everybody. So I just say thank you. I hope people don’t think I’m being rude.
    Anyhow, I’m heading over to read the blog you suggested, Ducky. x

    Like

  5. says:

    Congratulations on your well deserved awards.

    Funny aren’t they? It is a bit flattering, wonderful and chainletterish all at the same time. If you don’t mind Caroline, I like to help out Ducky too. So, please Ducky, for your dear readers, go to dashboard, edit post, highlight Jeannie’s name or any part there of. Then above where you see all the little square boxes that look much like buttons on a remote control, find the one that looks like a figure 8, or chain link, or says the word ‘link’ and type or copy her web address there. It’s really that easy! I’d like to visit her and leave her a comment.

    Julie

    Like

  6. says:

    You are going to earn yourself another award! Well done. 🙂

    Like

  7. Jeanna says:

    Awwww Ducks, I really really appreciate this blog. It is quite flattering. I feel the same way about yours. Every time I receive an email notice that you’ve posted something new, I drop what I am doing to read it. You always make my mind dream bigger. I am very very flattered that you like my blog enough to do a whole blog post for it. Thanks a million.

    Like

  8. nelle says:

    You made me laugh with the line about begging people to start a blog. 😉

    Like

  9. Surrey gal says:

    Well done for receiving the awards! Good job should always be appreciated.

    Like

  10. scrambled7 says:

    It’s an honor to be on your blogroll. 🙂

    Like

  11. enermazing says:

    ***Congratulations*** 🙂
    Re blogging awards: You know how happy I was (and still am) about my very first award. In the meantime, I’ve been wondering… especially why most of my nominees didn’t react in any way although I contacted each personally.
    I haven’t done the maths, but I agree that choosing fifteen nominees is too much – why choose at all? (Plus the fact that I hated to make such a choice :/)
    As for the chain mail function: I tracked back my award only by two “generations”, plus some of the sidetracks and came across some interesting blogs – I occasionally browse the net anyway to find new blogs 😉

    Like

  12. ElizOF says:

    Oh here is the post I was talking about… I added a blurb about adding photos on another post. I see you have the links working now. Fabulous… Thanks for introducing Jeannie as I love meeting new bloggers too… TY! 🙂

    Like

  13. Debbie says:

    Does that mean I shouldn’t list you in my 15? 😀
    (Actually, I haven’t decided whether to do it or not either). The upside is that it is a way to introduce people to other blogs, but as you say, the blog roll does that very well. I nominate you in my heart, whether or not I ever get the MVBA set down on paper.

    Like

  14. Keep doing what you’re doing and bask in the good feeling of knowing you’re appreciated!

    Like

  15. Barbara says:

    I couldn’t agree more Peter. It’s a lovely gesture but when it becomes so saturated it loses it’s meaning. You, however deserve all the kudos you get.
    b

    Like

  16. I really Loved your style of blogging!
    Just got subscribed to you! 🙂
    ♥ – Thaanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

