Waking Thoughts


 

Something wakes you in the dead of night. Might be the cat, a bolt of lightening or a bout of anxiety. Never mind. Welcome to one of those few moments when, in our crowded life and planet, we can think as freely as we wish without having to smile at or engage with others.

The first question is what woke me. Briefly if I’m woken suddenly on one night I tend to wake up at the same time the next night for no apparent reason. The previous night my partner put on her light  to scrabble for some paracetemol for her toothache. Pills eaten she fell asleep leaving me startled and alone with my thoughts. No one troubled me, rang me or asked me to do anything. To have this time alone with yourself is an enourmous pleasure and privilage. Like a goose feather on a soft breeze my mind drifted around until it settled on one idea. “It’s what you’ve done that you treasure in the long run rather than what you have”. Possessions matter. A house keeps you warm and dry obviously, as well as indicating your background and social status and artefacts can be like little diary entries: reminding you where you were and how you felt when you bought them. Ultimately thought it’s what you’ve done, who you’ve known and how you acted when there was no compass or someone to judge your actions that measure how your using your brief time on this planet. Conclusion. Don’t waste time worrying about buying the new sofa. No one’s that interested. Just connect with whats around you and people who matter with you.

Over and Out

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

