Technical Incompetence


It’s hard to believe I could do this to myself but I did. I had a blog called “And Another Thing”. Friends of mine kept asking me for the address but I couldn’t find it. I stumbled around hopelessly trying to find it on Google. Entering the term “And Another Thing”. WordPress I came across anything but the blog.  I decided, a bit wildly, to change the name to “Riverview Man”. This seemed a good idea at the time but fiddling around with the boxes I clearly pushed the wrong button or six.

Unaware of this I went off to sleep. The next day. ( Today) I logged in to see how it was all going and write some more but I noticed that my visits seemed to have fallen right off. That was odd because they had been pretty stable. Not to worry I went off to see how the blogs I follow were doing and if there was anything new. I clicked back on a comment I made  to return to my blog to be told, “This blog is no longer available”.  What.. WHAT…..

Apparently I had deleted my blog. There is no way you can undo this error. I tried opening up another blog with the same account but gradually fell deeper and deeper into a swamp of incompetence. By now I was hopelessly flustered and trying to copy and paste my posts onto Word so I could put them somewhere else.  In the event I managed to lose half my posts and didn’t seem to be getting anywhere using my normal email address. Finally I decided to get a new email address and open up a new blog.

Anyway, you’re getting the idea. I’ve still getting to grips with it but I’m going to be very careful what I do now in case I blow this blog up as well.

It’s not a matter of life and death and I’m starting to laugh about it. It just shows that when things go wrong, they go really wrong and half  of  it at least tends to be your own fault. OK, in this case it’s all my own fault. No need to rub it in.

Over and Out

About Peter Wells aka Countingducks

Trying to remember what my future is
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Technical Incompetence

  1. Vixter2010 says:

    Nightmare, that sucks! Hope you can sort it soon 🙂

    Like

  2. Dawne Webber says:

    So sorry about your problems. It sounds like something I would do, too. Thanks for the update; I would have wondered what happened to you!

    Well, I guess it’s a fresh start 🙂

    Like

  3. Caroline says:

    Well this one seems to be lasting!! You’re still here this morning! And thank you for your comment on my blog!

    Good luck!

    Like

  4. Caroline says:

    I’ve added a link to your site from mine!

    Like

  5. Hilarious! I think I have been following your now deleted blog – recognise the over and out! Counting ducks? Do spill.

    Like

  6. Nokgiir says:

    Thats insane! I would’ve been livid myself if I had did that. Seems you have a great sense of humor about it now so the best of luck.

    Like

  7. KE Kent says:

    I’ve done that before. It’s extremely frustrating and aggravating. And like you, it was the topic of an entry. Hope it doesn’t happen to you again.

    Like

    • I was baffled for a bit. I could’nt understand what I had done. I’d only been blogging for about 3 weeks so it could have been worse. I still look warily at those buttonson te side of the page. One of them says “Delete Blog”. I have a strange obsession with it. Thankyou for reading my Blog. I like yours

      Like

Leave a Reply

